Vegan Sugar Free Chocolate – Prepare The Healthy Chocolate Dishes


A plate of food

Chocolate can be creamy, umami, sour, sweet, and bitter, but the real question is if they are vegan. In fact, chocolates can be vegan, and very few people know about them. Vegan sugar-free chocolate is gaining a lot of popularity recently and a lot of people seem to be switching to this alternative. Many dark chocolates are vegan and some of the white chocolates are vegan too. Technically the only ingredient that is required to make dark chocolates is cacao. However, to make it sugar-free, saccharin is often used in place of sugar. Sometimes calorie-free and carb-free alternatives are also used to make vegan chocolates. 

Ingredients

A piece of chocolate cake on a plate

Vegan sugar-free chocolate is made up of different ingredients as compared to normal chocolates. The very first and the most important ingredient used to make this chocolate is cacao or cocoa beans. These beans are grown with the main purpose of turning them into chocolates. The second ingredient that is often used to make vegan chocolates is cocoa nibs. These are the pieces of cocoa beans that are left after the removal of shells. Some other ingredients used are cocoa butter, cocoa powder, saccharin, milk powder, emulsifier (soy), and vanilla extract. 

Can Vegans Eat Chocolate? 

A plastic container of food

A lot of people believe that since chocolates include dairy products in their ingredients, vegans might avoid consuming them. However, chocolate in itself is vegan. The cocoa bean from which the cocoa powder and cocoa butter are derived is the seed of the tree found in Native America. By default, the beans extracted from these trees are vegan. However, the way the processing of chocolate has evolved and the way in which the process involves mixing lots of other products, the chocolate no longer remains pure and vegan. Nevertheless, vegan sugar-free chocolate is gaining importance these days and can be the best alternatives of chocolate for vegans. 

Which Chocolate is Vegan? 

It is possible for chocolates to be vegan but it is hard to determine which chocolates are vegan; it is hard to determine which chocolate bars are meant for the consumption of vegans. It is very obvious that vegans have a hard time searching for vegan sugar-free chocolate but in recent times, it is not impossible. Generally, dark chocolates are vegan because they do not contain any milk products. Chocolates which contain 100% cocoa are definitely vegan because they do not contain anything but cocoa. Traditional milk chocolates contain milk and are definitely not vegan. 

Is White Chocolate Vegan? 

The main ingredient of white chocolate is cocoa butter and it is then mixed with saccharin, vanilla, milk products, and lecithin as an emulsifier. There has been a long ongoing debate regarding whether white chocolate should be considered vegan chocolate. We live in a time where it has been made possible for people to cook almost every other dish at home. The same goes for vegan sugar-free chocolate. It can be made at home if people are unable to find it outside. It is possible to replace the milk items in white chocolate with plant-based milk like oats, rice, coconut, etc. 

Conclusion 

Vegan sugar-free chocolate is hard to find and not every brand produces it. However, people can make these even at home just by using a few ingredients which are easily available in the markets. These chocolates are surely a better alternative for people who avoid milk products.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter